Performances

Subject to change.

 

Click here for past performances

Click here for concert reviews

 

Upcoming Performances



Saturday, September 6, 2014, 6:00 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
Silvia McNair, soprano
BERLIOZ: Overture to Béatrice et Bénédict
CHABRIER: España
CANTELOUBE: Excerpts from Chants d’Auvergne
OFFENBACH: Overture to Orphée aux Enfers
GERSHWIN: Overture to Strike Up the Band
ROB MATHES: Gershwiniana
GERSHWIN: Songs featuring vocalist Silvia McNair


Thursday, September 18, 2014, 8:00 pm
Saturday, September 20, 2014, 6:00 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
Olga Kern, piano
Baiba Skride, violin
Sol Gabetta, cello
WILLIAM BOLCOM: Circus Overture (European Premiere)
BEETHOVEN: Concerto for Violin, Cello, and Piano
MUSSORGSKY/RAVEL/SLATKIN: Pictures at an Exhibition
Celebrating Leonard Slatkin’s 70th Birthday


Sunday, September 21, 2014, 11:00 am
Musicians of theOrchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
Olga Kern, piano
Leonard Slatkin, piano
Jennifer Gilbert, violin
Jean-Pascal Oswald, viola
Nicolas Hartmann, cello
Vladimir Toma, double bass
RAVEL: Mother Goose Suite
GERSHWIN: Excerpts from Porgy and Bess
SCHUBERT: Piano Quintet in A major, “Trout”


Sunday, September 21, 2014, 4:00 pm
Orchestre d'Harmonie du Rhône
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
Blok'Notes, chorus
JOHN WILLIAMS/JOHAN DE MEIJ: Star Wars Saga
THOMPSON: The Road Not Taken
IDA GOTKOVSKY: Poème du feu
MORTEN LAURIDSEN: Contre qui, Rose?
CINDY MCTEE: Circuits
PERSICHETTI: Divertimento


Thursday, September 25, 2014, 7:30 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
MC2, Maison de la Culture de Grenoble
Grenoble, France
Renaud Capuçon, violin
BERNSTEIN: Divertimento for Orchestra
KORNGOLD: Concerto for Violin
RAVEL/CONSTANT:Gaspard de la nuit
GERSHWIN: An American in Paris


Friday, September 26, 2014, 8:00 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
Renaud Capuçon, violin
BERNSTEIN: Divertimento for Orchestra
KORNGOLD: Concerto for Violin
RAVEL/CONSTANT:Gaspard de la nuit
GERSHWIN: An American in Paris


Saturday, September 27, 2014, 7:30 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
Wiener Konzerthaus
Vienna, Austria
Baiba Skride, violin
BERNSTEIN: Divertimento for Orchestra
SAINT-SAËNS: Violin Concerto No. 3
RAVEL/CONSTANT:Gaspard de la nuit
GERSHWIN: An American in Paris


Monday, September 29, 2014, 7:30 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
Bratislava, Slovakia
Renaud Capuçon, violin
BERNSTEIN: Divertimento for Orchestra
KORNGOLD: Concerto for Violin
RAVEL/CONSTANT:Gaspard de la nuit
GERSHWIN: An American in Paris


Friday, October 10, 2014, 10:45 am
Saturday, October 11, 2014, 8:00 pm
Sunday, October 12, 2014, 3:00 pm
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Orchestra Hall
Detroit, Michigan
Sarah Chang, violin
WILLIAM BOLCOM: Circus Overture (DSO Premiere)
BARLOW: The Winter's Passed
BARBER: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra
BRAHMS: Symphony No. 1
Celebrating Leonard Slatkin’s 70th Birthday


Friday, October 17, 2014, 8:00 pm
Sunday, October 19, 2014, 3:00 pm
St. Louis Symphony Orchestra
Powell Hall
St. Louis, Missouri
David Halen, violin
LEONARD SLATKIN: Endgames
BRUCH: Violin Concerto No. 1
BERLIOZ: Symphonie fantastique


Thursday, October 23, 2014, 7:30 pm
Friday, October 24, 2014, 10:45 am
Saturday, October 25, 2014, 8:00 pm
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Orchestra Hall
Detroit, Michigan
Garrick Ohlsson, piano
MICHAEL DAUGHERTY: Lost Vegas (DSO Premiere)
COPLAND: Billy the Kid (DSO Premiere)
RACHMANINOFF: Piano Concerto No. 3


Thursday, October 30, 2014, 7:30 pm
Friday, October 31, 2014, 7:30 pm
Saturday, November 1, 2014, 8:00 pm
New York Philharmonic
Avery Fisher Hall at Lincoln Center
New York, New York
Robert Langevin, flute
COPLAND: El Salón México
RAVEL: Gaspard de la nuit
CHRISTOPHER ROUSE: Concerto for Flute
RAVEL: Boléro


Sunday, November 9, 2014, 3:00 pm
Monday, November 10, 2014, TBA
NHK Symphony Orchestra
Orchard Hall
Shibuya, Tokyo, Japan
Olga Kern, piano
WEBER: Oberon Overture
RACHMANINOFF: Piano Concerto No. 2
BRAHMS: Symphony No. 4


Saturday, November 15, 2014, 6:00 pm
Sunday, November 16, 2014, 3:00 pm
NHK Symphony Orchestra
NHK Hall
Tokyo, Japan
Sergey Khachatryan, violin
BEETHOVEN: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra
RAVEL: Rapsodie espagnole
RAVEL: Pavane pour une infante défunte
RAVEL: Daphnis et Chloé, Suite No. 2


Thursday, November 20, 2014, 7:30 pm
Friday, November 21, 2014, 10:45 am
Saturday, November 22, 2014, 8:00 pm
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Orchestra Hall
Detroit, Michigan
Kenneth Thompkins, trombone
IVES: Yale-Princeton Football Game (DSO Premiere)
LEONARD SLATKIN: Endgames (DSO Premiere)
CINDY MCTEE: Solstice for Trombone and Orchestra (DSO Premiere)
LEES: Concerto for String Quartet and Orchestra (DSO Premiere)
GERSHWIN: An American in Paris


Saturday, November 22, 2014, 11:00 am
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Orchestra Hall
Detroit, Michigan
YOUNG PEOPLE'S CONCERT
PROKOFIEV: Peter and the Wolf


Friday, November 28, 2014, 8:00 pm
Saturday, November 29, 2014, 8:00 pm
Sunday, November 30, 2014, 3:00 pm
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Orchestra Hall
Detroit, Michigan
Elina Vähälä, violin
BERNSTEIN: Three Dance Episodes from On the Town
JOHN CORIGLIANO: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra (DSO Premiere)
COPLAND: Grohg (DSO Premiere)
GERSHWIN/BENNETT: Porgy and Bess


Wednesday, December 3, 2014, 8:00 pm
Thursday, December 4, 2014, 8:00 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
Mason Bates, turntables
Cindy Castillo, organ
MASON BATES: Mothership
MASON BATES: Digital Loom
MASON BATES: The B-Sides
DVOŘÁK: Symphony No. 9, “From the New World”


Friday, December 5, 2014, 10:00 am
Saturday, December 6, 2014, 3:00 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
Mason Bates, turntables
JOHN ADAMS: Short Ride in a Fast Machine
GUNTHER SCHULLER: “The Twittering Machine” from Seven Studies on Themes of Paul Klee
MASON BATES: Solo on turntables
ANDERSON: The Syncopated Clock, The Waltzing Cat, and The Typewriter
MOSSOLOV: Le fonderies d’acier
MASON BATES: The B-Sides


Thursday, December 18, 2014, 8:00 pm
Saturday, December 20, 2014, 6:00 pm
Sunday, December 21, 2014, 4:00 pm

Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 1, Winter Reveries
TCHAIKOVSKY: Act II of The Nutcracker


Friday, December 19, 2014, 10:00 am
Friday, December 19, 2014, 12:30 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
PROKOFIEV: “Troika” from Lieutenant Kijé Suite
RIMSKY-KORSAKOV: “Dance of the Tumblers” from Snegurochka (Snow Maiden)
ANDERSON: Sleigh Ride
DEBUSSY: “The Snow Is Dancing” from Children's Corner
TCHAIKOVSKY: Suite No. 1 from The Nutcracker


Thursday, January 8, 2015, 7:30 pm
Friday, January 9, 2015, 8:00 pm
Saturday, January 10, 2015, 8:00 pm
Sunday, January 11, 2015, 3:00 pm
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Berman Center for the Performing Arts, West Bloomfield, Michigan
Village Theater at Cherry Hill, Canton, Michigan
Kirk in the Hills Presbyterian Church, Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Grosse Pointe Memorial Church, Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Nicolas Dautricourt, violin
TBA


Friday, January 16, 2015, 8:00 pm
Saturday, January 17,
2015, 6:00 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
Malin Byström, soprano
Jérôme Guichard, oboe
STRAUSS: Concerto for Oboe
STRAUSS: Four Last Songs
STRAUSS: Alpine Symphony


Tuesday, January 20, 2015, 8:00 pm
Conservatoire National Supérieur Musique et Danse de Lyon
Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
Édouard Sapey-Triomphe, cello
CINDY MCTEE: Timepiece
DVOŘÁK: Concerto for Cello
SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 5


Saturday, January 24, 2015, 7:00 pm
Sunday, January 25,
2015, 11:00 am
Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditori de Barcelona
Barcelona, Spain
Hélène Grimaud, piano
Vincent Warnier, organ
SAINT-SAËNS: Symphony No. 3, “Organ”
BRUNO MANTOVANI: Postludium
BRAHMS: Piano Concerto No. 1


Wednesday, January 28, 2015, 8:30 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
Grand Théâtre de Provence
Aix-en-Provence, France
Hélène Grimaud, piano
Vincent Warnier, organ
SAINT-SAËNS: Symphony No. 3, “Organ”
BRAHMS: Piano Concerto No. 1


Friday, January 30, 2015, 8:00 pm
Saturday, January 31, 2015, 6:00 pm

Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
Hélène Grimaud, piano
Vincent Warnier, organ
BRUNO MANTOVANI: Postludium
RAVEL: Mother Goose Suite
BRAHMS: Piano Concerto No. 1


Thursday, February 12, 2015, 7:30 pm
Friday, February 13, 2015, 8:00 pm
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Orchestra Hall
Detroit, Michigan
TCHAIKOVSKY FESTIVAL
Olga Kern, piano
TCHAIKOVSKY: Marche solennelle
TCHAIKOVSKY: Piano Concerto No. 2
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 6, Pathétique


Saturday, February 14, 2015, 8:00 pm
Sunday, February 15, 2015, 3:00 pm
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Orchestra Hall
Detroit, Michigan
TCHAIKOVSKY FESTIVAL
Olga Kern, piano
TCHAIKOVSKY: Marche slave
TCHAIKOVSKY: Piano Concerto No. 1
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 1, Winter Reveries


Friday, February 20, 2015, 10:45 am
Friday, February 20, 2015, 8:00 pm
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Orchestra Hall
Detroit, Michigan
TCHAIKOVSKY FESTIVAL

TCHAIKOVSKY: Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture
TCHAIKOVSKY: Suite from Swan Lake
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 3, Polish”


Saturday, February 21, 2015, 8:00 pm
Sunday, February 22, 2015, 3:00 pm
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Orchestra Hall
Detroit, Michigan
TCHAIKOVSKY FESTIVAL

Olga Kern, piano
TCHAIKOVSKY: Overture to The Voyevoda
TCHAIKOVSKY: Piano Concerto No. 3
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 5


Thursday, February 26, 2015, 7:30 pm
Friday, February 27, 2015, 8:00 pm
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Orchestra Hall
Detroit, Michigan
TCHAIKOVSKY FESTIVAL
Julian Rachlin, violin
TCHAIKOVSKY: Polonaise from Eugene Onegin
TCHAIKOVSKY: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 4



Saturday, February 28, 2015, 8:00 pm
Sunday, March 1, 2015, 3:00 pm
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Orchestra Hall
Detroit, Michigan
TCHAIKOVSKY FESTIVAL
Narek Hakhnazaryan, cello
TCHAIKOVSKY: 1812 Overture
TCHAIKOVSKY: Nocturne for Cello and Orchestra
TCHAIKOVSKY: Variations on a Rococo Theme
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 2,
Little Russian”


Thursday, March 5, 2015, 8:00 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
Denis Matsuev, piano
BARBER: Adagio for Strings
SHOSTAKOVICH: Piano Concerto No. 2
BRAHMS: Symphony No. 1


Saturday, March 7, 2015, 6:00 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
Denis Matsuev, piano
CINDY MCTEE: Einstein's Dream
PROKOFIEV: Piano Concerto No. 3
BRAHMS: Symphony No. 2


Thursday, March 12, 2015, 8:00 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
Gautier Capuçon, cello
RON NELSON: Sarabande: For Katharine in April
BRAHMS: Symphony No. 3
PROKOFIEV: Sinfonia concertante for Cello


Saturday, March 14, 2015, 6:00 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
Gautier Capuçon, cello
Sylvain Ketels, trumpet
Pascal Zamora, English horn
COPLAND: Quiet City
SHOSTAKOVICH: Cello Concerto No. 2
BRAHMS: Symphony No. 4


Thursday, March 26, 2015, 8:00 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
In collaboration with Jazz à Vienne
Big band de l'Œuf
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
Stefano Bollani, piano
Vincent Warnier, organ
BARBER: Toccata festiva
RAVEL: Piano Concerto in G major
GERSHWIN: An American in Paris
PIERRE BALDY-MOULINIER: Neige au Cachemire
PIERRE BALDY-MOULINIER: Basalte
PIERRE BALDY-MOULINIER: 7 à nous


Friday, March 27, 2015, 8:30 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
Philharmonie de Paris
Paris, France
Stefano Bollani, piano
Vincent Warnier, organ
BARBER: Toccata festiva
RAVEL: Piano Concerto in G major
RAVEL/CONSTANT: Gaspard de la nuit
GERSHWIN: An American in Paris


Sunday, March 29, 2015, 4:00 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
PARTICIPATORY CONCERT
GRIEG: “In the Hall of the Mountain King” from Peer Gynt
VERDI: “Triumphal March” from Aida
TBA


Thursday, April 16, 2015, 7:30 pm
Friday, April 17, 2015, 10:45 am
Saturday, April 18, 2015, 8:00 pm
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Orchestra Hall
Detroit, Michigan
Simon Mulligan, piano
Isabelle Druet, mezzo-soprano
Kimberly Kaloyanides Kennedy, violin
RAVEL: Overture de Féerie from Shéhérazade
GINASTERA: Piano Concerto No. 1 (DSO Premiere)
RAVEL: Two Hebraic Melodies (DSO Premiere)
GINASTERA: Pampeana No. 1 (DSO Premiere)
RAVEL: Shéhérazade
GINASTERA: Suite from Estancia


Friday, April 24, 2015, 8:00 pm
Saturday, April 25, 2015, 8:00 pm
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Orchestra Hall
Detroit, Michigan
Jaime Laredo, violin
Sharon Robinson Laredo, cello
MOZART: Overture to The Magic Flute
ANDRÉ PREVIN: Double Concerto (DSO Premiere)
BRUCKNER: Symphony No. 4, Romantic


Sunday, April 26, 2015, 3:00 pm
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Seligman Performing Arts Center
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Jaime Laredo, violin
Sharon Robinson Laredo, cello
MOZART: Overture to The Magic Flute
ANDRÉ PREVIN: Double Concerto
BRUCKNER: Symphony No. 4, Romantic


Wednesday, April 29, 2015, 8:00 pm
Thursday, April 30, 2015, 8:00 pm

Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
Joshua Bell, violin
RAVEL: Le tombeau de Couperin
FAURÉ: Pelléas et Mélisande Suite
SHOSTAKOVICH: Violin Concerto No. 1


Wednesday, May 6, 2015, 8:00 pm
Thursday, May 7, 2015, 8:00 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
Ian Bostridge, tenor
BRITTEN: Nocturne
MAHLER: Symphony No. 5


Sunday, May 17, 2015, 3:00 pm
Berlin Philharmonic
Berliner Philharmonie
Berlin, Germany
TBA


Thursday, May 21, 2015, 7:30 pm
Friday, May 22, 2015, 10:45 am
Saturday, May 23, 2015, 8:00 pm
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Orchestra Hall
Detroit, Michigan
Midori, violin
GABRIELA LENA FRANK: Concertino cusqueño
WALTON: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra
PROKOFIEV/SLATKIN: Suite from Cinderella


Friday, May 29, 2015, 8:00 pm
Sunday, May 31, 2015, 3:00 pm
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Orchestra Hall
Detroit, Michigan
Patricia Racette, soprano
James Valenti, tenor
Eric Owens, bass-baritone
PUCCINI: Tosca (DSO Premiere)


Thursday, June 4, 2015, 8:00 pm
Terence Blanchard Quintet
with members of the
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
Orchestra Hall
Detroit, Michigan
A Tale of God's Will (A Requiem for Katrina)


Thursday, June 11, 2015, 8:00 pm
Saturday, June 13, 2015, 6:00 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
François Dumont, piano
Chœur Britten
Chœurs et Solistes de Lyon—Bernard Tétu
Nicole Corti, choir director
RAVEL: Piano Concerto in G major
RAVEL: Piano Concerto for the Left Hand
RAVEL: Daphnis et Chloé


Thursday, June 18, 2015, 8:00 pm
Friday, June 19, 2015, 8:00 pm
Saturday, June 20, 2015, 6:00 pm
Orchestre National de Lyon
Auditorium de Lyon
Lyon, France
Co-production with l'Institut Lumière
JOHN WILLIAMS: Excerpts from the films of Steven Spielberg

 

 

 




Mr. Slatkin is represented exclusively by
Columbia Artists Management LLC