Detroit Symphony Orchestra Announces July 2017 Asia Tour

Detroit Symphony Orchestra Announces July 2017 Asia Tour
December 6, 2016 leonard slatkin

December 6, 2016

The Detroit Symphony Orchestra has announced that it will undertake a historic three-week tour of Asia in July 2017, including its debut performances in China and its first visit to Japan in 19 years. Music Director Leonard Slatkin will conduct the DSO in 11 concerts from July 14 to 29, 2017, marking his first overseas tour with the ensemble and the DSO’s first international tour since Europe in October 2001, when it was the first American orchestra to travel following 9/11. The DSO’s Asia Tour 2017 will launch with a free send-off concert in Detroit on Sunday, July 9, which will be webcast online through the Live from Orchestra Hall series.

Music to be performed across the Asia Tour will include several American works that Slatkin and the DSO have highlighted in recent seasons—Copland’s Symphony No. 3, Barber’s Adagio for Strings, Bernstein’s Candide Overture, Cindy McTee’s Double Play, and Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue. Other repertoire to be performed on the tour will include Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4, Korngold’s Violin Concerto, and Takemitsu’s Far Calls. Coming, Far!

Asia Tour 2017 Itinerary

Friday, July 14 at 6:15 pm
CONCERT 1: SEITOKU  (Kawanami Memorial Hall)
Makoto Ozone, piano

Saturday, July 15 at 4 pm
CONCERT 2: TOYOTA CITY  (Toyota-Shi Concert Hall)
Makoto Ozone, piano

Sunday, July 16 at 3 pm
CONCERT 3: OSAKA  (Symphony Hall)
Makoto Ozone, piano

Monday, July 17 at 3 pm
CONCERT 4: TOKYO  (Bunkyo Civic Hall)
Makoto Ozone, piano

Wednesday, July 19 at 7 pm
CONCERT 5: TOKYO NIPPON FESTIVAL  (Tokyo Opera City, Concert Hall)
Akiko Suwanai, violin

Thursday, July 20 at 7 pm
CONCERT 6: FUKUI  (Harmony Hall Fukui)
Makoto Ozone, piano

Saturday, July 22 at 7:30 pm
Concert 7: SUZHOU (Suzhou Kunshan Poly Theater)

Sunday, July 23 at 7:30 pm
Concert 8: WUHAN (Qintai Concert Hall)

Tuesday, July 25 at 7:30 pm
Concert 9: CHANGSHA (Poly Concert Hall)

Thursday, July 27 at 7:30 p.m.
Concert 10: CHONGQING (Chongqing Grand Theatre)

Saturday, July 29 at 7:30 p.m.
Concert 11: SHANGHAI (Oriental Arts Center)
Trey Chui-yee Lee, cello